The Right Lawyer Makes All The Difference℠

Call us toll free at:

(855) 693-9084

English | EspaƱol

Massachusetts Auto Accidents and New Ban on Texting

Massachusetts is now the 27th state to ban texting in a car. In a concerted effort to prevent serious auto accidents, the state has also banned any cellphone use for drivers under the age of 18.

According to the Boston Globe, the state law will take effect in October and will cover a wide range of reading and writing on mobile devices, including emailing, internet searching and other noncalling activities. The law, passed after a number of high profile deaths in texting auto accidents, also covers drivers waiting at traffic lights and stop signs. An instant $100 fine is possible.

Under 18 drivers may only use their phone for texting or talking in an emergency or when the car is parked. If they break the law, they can have their car licenses suspended for 60 days.

Have you been affected by an auto accident where the driver was texting? Call or email the lawyers at Mazow|McCullough for expert advice on your case.

FEATURED VIDEOAbout Mazow | McCullough, PC

Get Your FREE No Obligation Consultation

Fill out my online form.

Date Archive