Massachusetts and New Hampshire Personal Injury Attorneys

24 hours / 7 days a week | English | Español

Toll Free: (855) 693-9084

Local: (978) 744-8000

Motorcycle Laws in New Hampshire

Do you live in New Hampshire and own a motorcycle or plan to purchase one soon? If so, there are a number of state laws that will soon apply to you. You should take the time to understand these laws and your responsibilities as a motorcycle operator sharing the road.

You should also understand your rights in the event you’re involved in a motorcycle accident with a negligent driver. Here’s what you need to know.

Motorcycle Helmet Laws in New Hampshire

Unlike most other states in the U.S., New Hampshire does not have specific motorcycle helmet laws for adults. In fact, it’s only one of three states that doesn’t. However, riders under the age of 18 must wear protective headgear. Ideally, this would be a helmet approved by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT).

New Hampshire Motorcycle Licensing Laws

The state of New Hampshire requires all motorcycle operators to obtain a license. There are two ways to do this:

  1. Take a motorcycle training course. New Hampshire uses Basic RiderCourse® to prepare riders for the road.
  2. Pass a motorcycle skills test. Much like a new driver test, the rider will be assessed for their ability to safely operate their motorcycle by a DMV supervisor prior to being granted a license. This can be waived if the rider has completed the Basic RiderCourse®.

In addition to either taking a motorcycle training course or passing the DMV written test, you must also pass a vision test. Riders under the age of 18 must first obtain a 45-day learner’s permit before they can obtain a motorcycle license and must attend and pass the Basic RiderCourse®.

Insurance for Motorcycles

Like its motorcycle helmet law, New Hampshire departs from the norm in the U.S. when it comes to insurance requirements for motorcycle riders as well. In most cases, insurance isn’t a requirement at all, and riders can choose not to have any insurance, even liability-only.

However, motorcycle owners who choose to ride without insurance are taking a significant risk. If they are considered at fault for a motorcycle accident, the victim(s) of that accident can hold them liable for financial damages. Depending on the severity of the accident, this could be hundreds of thousands of dollars, or much more than the motorcyclist can afford.

Call Reliable New Hampshire Motorcycle Accident Lawyers Mazow | McCullough, PC Now

Don’t wait after being involved in a motorcycle accident in New Hampshire to secure the advocacy of an experienced personal injury lawyer. Mazow | McCullough, PC have a proven track record of success obtaining favorable settlements for motorcycle victims and their families. Call today for your consultation at (978) 744-8000 or toll free at (855) 693-9084.

FEATURED VIDEOAbout Mazow | McCullough, PC

FREE EBOOK

FREE CASE EVALUATION No Obligation Consultation

Fill out my online form.
Share This