Massachusetts and New Hampshire Personal Injury Attorneys

24 hours / 7 days a week | English | Español

Toll Free: (855) 693-9084

Local: (978) 744-8000

Motorcycle Laws in Massachusetts

Motorcycle LawsIf you own a motorcycle or plan to in the future and live in Massachusetts, it’s important that you understand mandatory laws that apply to you. These laws are designed to improve safety and reduce the risk of motorcycle accidents; however, they aren’t infallible.

Here’s what you need to know about motorcycle laws in Massachusetts and what to do if you were involved in a motorcycle accident caused by someone else’s carelessness.

Motorcycle Helmet Laws in Massachusetts

In the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, all motorcyclists must wear a helmet that meets the Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standards established by the U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT). This includes passengers on the back of a motorcycle or those riding in a sidecar.

Motorcycle Licensing Laws

The Commonwealth requires that all motorcycle riders have a Class M motorcycle license to legally operate their vehicle on Massachusetts roadways. If the rider is under the age of 18, they must have a learner’s permit with a motorcycle endorsement. You cannot legally ride a motorcycle with only a regular driver’s license or learner’s permit.

A learner’s permit is required for everyone who wants to obtain a motorcycle license and can be obtained starting at the age of 16. Prior to applying for a motorcycle learner’s permit, the rider must first have obtained their Class D driver’s license.

A rider must possess their learner’s permit and it must remain in good standing for a minimum of six (6) months before it can be converted into a valid motorcycle license.

Motorcycle Insurance Laws

Motorcycle riders must have adequate insurance to cover potential damages in the event of an accident. While motor vehicle operators generally have more flexibility when selecting insurance, motorcycle owners must have the following coverage:

  • $5,000 property damage
  • $20,000 bodily injury
  • $40,000 per accident

You can purchase additional motorcycle insurance coverage if you wish, however, the above limits are the minimums riders are required to have. When purchasing your insurance policy, remember that if you are found to be at fault for a motorcycle accident, you may be held personally liable for any damages that are above and beyond your insurance policy limits. It’s often in the best interest of a motorcycle owner to have more insurance than they think they need.

Contact Experienced Massachusetts Motorcycle Accident Attorneys Mazow | McCullough, P.C. Today

If you were the victim of a motorcycle accident caused by another driver’s negligence, you may be entitled to monetary compensation for the damages you suffered in the collision.

At Mazow | McCullough, PC, we can help you and your family recover the maximum available settlement award. Contact us today for your initial consultation at (978) 744-8000 or toll free at (855) 693-9084.

FEATURED VIDEOAbout Mazow | McCullough, PC

FREE EBOOK

FREE CASE EVALUATION No Obligation Consultation

Fill out my online form.
Share This